Home   Join   Renew   Member Login

Search | Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn

Benefits of Membership

Heartland Chapter

(Includes the states of Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota)

Chapter Guidelines and Operating Rules   ·   Chapter Officers & Regional Director   ·   Committee Chairs
Photo Gallery   ·   Events/Announcements   ·   Previous Information/Meetings
Jim Latteman Scholarship   ·   Meeting Minutes & History   ·   Awards/Recognition

Jim Latteman Scholarship Criteria and Application

The chapter's primary objective is to foster learning opportunities for the insurance compliance community. The Heartland Chapter of AICP will award an annual scholarship, in the amount of $500.00, in an effort to further insurance education, and encourage, support, and reward college students who have an interest in insurance as a career.

This scholarship is named in the memory of long time AICP Heartland Chapter member Jim Latteman. A former Director of IT for the Missouri Department of Insurance, Jim then moved on to the NAIC where he became one of the founding developers and marketers of SERFF.



AMOUNT: $500.00 scholarship



Applicants must submit the following information for consideration:


The Scholarship Selection Committee will be comprised of the Scholarship Committee. The individuals on the committee must have no ties or relationships to any applicant. In the event one of them is related to or otherwise closely connected with an applicant, they must immediately inform the other members of the committee and recuse them self from the selection process. At that point the current chapter president will appoint a replacement to the committee.


The Scholarship Selection Committee will make their selection based upon the following criteria:

  1. Grade Point.
  2. Involvement in extra-curricular activities.
  3. Level of educational interest and dedication to the insurance industry.

The Scholarship Selection Committee will vote on each of the above categories for each nominee on a scale of 1 – 5, with 5 being high. Each member then would recommend a maximum of 15 points per nominee. All committee members' votes will be tallied for each candidate and the candidate with the highest score will be awarded the scholarship.


Completed applications and all supporting requirements are to be sent to the Chairperson of the Scholarship Committee by no later than May 15th. The Chairperson will send copies of all material to the other committee members for their review. The committee members will review all applications, confer and determine the scholarship winners by no later than May 31st. The Committee Chair will have the privilege of notifying the winner and directing the Chapter Treasurer to mail the $500.00 check to the applicant's educational institution by no later than August 1st. Form letters will be sent to the non-winning applicants by August 1st. The scholarship winner will be announced via e-mail to the chapter, through an AICP Press Release, and on our website.

Mail application to:

Kari Hamrick
Summit Compliance Group, LLC
2038 Ford Parkway
Saint Paul, MN 55116
Phone: 612.308.6161

Click here to access the Application

Back to Heartland Chapter Page


Association of Insurance Compliance Professionals Copyright 2018
11130 Sunrise Valley Drive, Suite 350, Reston, VA 20191
Phone: (703) 234-4074
We have recently updated our privacy policy and terms of use. By using this site, you agree to AICP's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. We use cookies to provide, secure and improve our services to you.